New Rule Enjoined in Four States

Jun 16 / Christine Galdston
A federal district court in Louisiana has temporarily halted the new Title IX Rule, set to take effect on August 1, 2024, in several states, including Mississippi, Louisiana, Montana, and Idaho.

The decision, made on June 16, marks the first among several lawsuits filed by states challenging the Biden administration's revisions to Title IX. These lawsuits object to the expanded scope of the revised rule, which now includes discrimination based on gender identity in addition to biological sex—an issue central to the challenges. Application of the new rule will remain "on hold" in these states until the merits of the case are decided or there is a reversal of the decision on appeal. In the meantime, existing rules will continue to be enforced in these states.

Numerous similar cases are pending in other jurisdictions, and decisions in those cases are likely to roll out over the coming weeks. This could result in additional injunctions and holds on the new rules in other states. States challenging the new rules include Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.